Los Angeles – On its fourth anniversary, July 4, 2013, the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the selections in its 2013 Midseason Awards.

Winners of the vote, which took place between June 20 and June 30, 2013, are as follows:

American League MVP: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers.
National League MVP: Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies.

AL Cy Young: Max Scherzer, Detroit Tigers.
NL Cy Young: Matt Harvey, New York Mets.

AL Rookie: Jose Iglesias, Boston Red Sox.
NL Rookie: Shelby Miller, St. Louis Cardinals.

AL Reliever: Mariano Rivera, New York Yankees.
NL Reliever: Jason Grilli, Pittsburgh Pirates.

AL Manager: John Farrell, Boston Red Sox.
NL Manager: Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh Pirates.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, of LA Weekly, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame vote in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

In 2010, the IBWAA began voting in its own relief pitcher category, establishing the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Awards.

Among others, IBWAA members include Barry Bloom, Chris Haft and Jim Thomas, MLB.com; Thomas Bonk; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Mike Petriello, Mark A. Simon and David Schoenfield, ESPN.com; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Ian Casselberry, Bloguin; Jonah Keri, Grantland; Joe McDonnell, FoxSportsWest.com; Tom Hoffarth, J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, Los Angeles Daily News; Kevin Baxter, Los Angeles Times; Dayn Perry, CBSSports.com, and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian, John Rosengren and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10, or $20 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.